The NHS Innovation Accelerator (NIA) has been selected as a finalist in the ITEC Awards 2018.

Run by the TEC Services Association (TSA), the ITEC Awards are to be held at the prestigious gala dinner at this year’s International Technology Enabled Care conference on the evening of the 16th October 2018 at the ICC Birmingham.

TSA Chief Executive, Alyson Scurfield commented:

“Initiatives like the NHS Innovation Accelerator make a huge difference to the lives of people worldwide. It’s a great achievement to be shortlisted from the large number of submissions that we received for these new and exciting awards.

“The ITEC Awards are designed to celebrate the very best the industry has to offer. It will act as a hallmark of quality for both those shortlisted, and the winners, and I’d like to wish the NIA the best of luck when the winners are announced in October.”

Dr Amanda Begley, National Director of the NIA, said:

“We are delighted to have been selected as a finalist for the ITEC Awards 2018. This fantastic recognition is credit to all those involved in delivering the NHS Innovation Accelerator – of the commitment and efforts of our partners across the AHSN Network and NHS England, our NIA mentors, our patient representatives, and the hard work and dedication of our inspiring Fellows who are spreading high-impact innovations for patient and NHS benefit.”

The ITEC (International Technology Enabled Care) Awards showcase exceptional work in Technology Enabled Care and are designed to recognise excellence, innovation and outstanding achievement within the sector.

The Awards have been judged by a panel of industry experts consisting of:

  • Professor George Crooks OBE, CEO, Digital Health & Care Institute
  • Alan Davies, Director of Digital Health / Chair of the Digital Expert Group, Innovation Agency
  • Alyson Scurfield, Chief Executive, TSA
  • Madeleiane Starr MBE, Director of Business Development & Innovation, Carers UK
  • Professor Jonathan Wallace, Professor of Innovation, University of Ulster

For more information relating to the ITEC Awards or the ITEC Conference 2018, visit